Review: True Calling – Siobhan Davis

True Calling (True Calling #1)True Calling by Siobhan Davis
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Planet Earth has became inhabitable and so human beings are being evacuated to other planets, which are replicated in order to look like Earth. Ariana Skyee is a 17 year old who has been selected to live on planet Novo, whereby “The Calling” is a legal requirement which forces 17 year olds to enter a system which makes them marry an eligible “suitor”. But what happens when Ariana begins to fall for Cal, a boy from school, yet has dreams of the mysterious Zane?

This book had the potential to be so, so good. But oh my, it was tedious.

Ariana knows Cal from school and had always disliked him.
“I sometimes see him at the running track, but I always go out of my way to take the opposite course to him. He has this uncanny ability to completely unnerve me, just as he’s doing at this moment.” Ariana sees Cal as an arrogant, cocky know-it-all to the extent where his presence makes her uneasy……However, she then falls in love with him.

So, ok we should all give people a second chance, right? Maybe Ariana was wrong about Cal. Maybe he’s a great guy after all. Ariana continues to fall further and further for Cal and as a reader, I really can’t see why. Cal was a manipulative, dominating character and I couldn’t bring myself to like him at all. At one point in the book, Cal suggests that in order to defy the government he should “get” Ariana pregnant. WHAT? No one has any right to control a woman’s body and attempt to get her pregnant without her consent. Luckily, Cal never tries to get her pregnant, however it is still a disgusting thing to suggest.

He also thinks he is God’s gift to women: “I’m not used to having to try so hard, it made me determined to win you over,” Cal was a horrible character and I really cannot see why Ariana felt so strongly towards him.

The plot of this book was good and I am so disappointed that the characters ruined it. It was original and somewhat exciting, however would have been much better if the characters weren’t so frustrating.

Thanks Netgalley for this free ebook!

Leave a Reply

