How Many Books Do you Read At A Time?

Disscussion

One thing I’m always curious about is other people’s reading habits. How many books do readers read per year, do they read digital or physical copies, how do the books they read vary?
Whilst looking through Goodreads I see that many people are reading more than one book at a time. And I don’t mean two, or three. I mean, like 6 or 7.
Personally I have no idea how these people manage it! I very rarely have more than two books at a time that I’m reading (one for fun, the other for university). I don’t think I could deal with any more than that at a time. When I’m reading a book I like to devote my whole attention to it, and not get distracted by others. I know occasionally when I’m reading a book that I’m not so keen on I wish I was reading something else, so I am TEMPTED to start another one alongside it, however, I try my best to persist with the original one, knowing that it shouldn’t take too long to finish!

What are your thoughts on this? How many books do you read at a time? If it’s more than one how do you manage it?

16 thoughts on “How Many Books Do you Read At A Time?

  1. I tend to have different books for different occasions/moods: I’ll have my main read, one for going to bed- often a childrens book, a couple of audiobooks on the go- different choices for different moods). It doesnt always work though and I do sometimed end up with a lot of half read books.

    Like

  2. I’m usually reading maybe 4-5 books at a time…And technically this number could go up to 6 or 7 books right now because there are quite a few books I didn’t mean to leave unfinished but I got bored and moved on…However I feel like I should be going back to finish them!..But back to the matter at hand! The main reason I do this because I try to read on both my kindle and physical books (which I get from the library). So I may be reading 2 or 3 books on my kindle (most likely ARCs that I’m trying to simultaneously finish and a book I’m reading “for fun”)…But then I see a book at the library and I really want to read it! So I just borrow it and start reading it right then…Then of-course there are the books I’m assigned at school (usually just one at any given moment).

    Like

  3. I’m usually always reading at least two books- one for fun and one for school, like you said. Sometimes there will be a random third one thrown in there, but any more than that at once and I start to feel bogged down and stressed out about finishing them all. I’m with you, I don’t know how those people read so many books at once!

    Like

  4. I am a one-book kinda girl myself. I can’t imagine juggling more than 1 book at a time. I don’t necessarily think I would get confused about which details belong to which book, but I’d kinda feel like I was cheating on one book with the other. And of course I would have a favorite between the 2, so why not just read 1 at a time?

    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I usually read at least 2 at a time. My goodreads profile says I’m reading 6, but that’s only because I’ve been too lazy to clear out books I started and then put down 😦 When I start reading too many books at once, at least one always ends up getting forgotten, so I try to keep it to a minimum.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I usually read around 150 books in a yr. About the goodreads and having a lot of books going at once, I cant speak for others but I know that sometimes I add a book to my currently reading and if ot doesnt hold my interest then i put it down pick up another until Im ready to go back to the other book. Some books like the VA books I can only take in small dosages so I read a few chapters here and there then pick up another book as well. I sometimes on goodreads have 4 or 5 books going. Sometimes I add them on my currently reading with every intention to get to the book but totally forget. But when I look at goodreads and see it there I remember and if Im ready I pick it up.

    As for digital copies I only read on my ereader if it is a book from Netgalley or an author sends me an E-arc. I prefer physical books and I dont want to waste my money on a digital copy. I like the idea of having my books in my possession so I can see them

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve tried to read two books at the same time, but it didn’t work. I guess it’s not my type of thing. I prefer to read one book and fully understand and enjoyed it rather than mixing it up together. You, see this way my judgement is better and my reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Weekly Highlights; The UKYA Love Edition | A Daydreamer's Thoughts

  9. I read a lot of books at the same time! I really do feel it depends on my mood! And normally I have one e-book, an audio-book, a physical book or a graphic novel even! (I like options) Or it’s a book that I haven’t touch for months and I don’t want to give up on so I’ll let it on my currently reading so I don’t forget about it unless is horrible then I stop reading it)

    Like

  10. I used to read quite a few books at once. Even now, on goodreads it looks like I still am. Honestly, though, I tend to breeze through individual books so quickly that it doesn’t feel like I’m actively reading multiple books at once, except for those I read for university.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

