Review: Puppet – Pauline C. Harris

PuppetPuppet by Pauline C. Harris

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Thanks to Netgalley for this free ebook!

Puppet is a retelling of Carlo Collodi’s Pinocchio. In this version Penelope is our protagonist who lives in a future world where Marionettes have been developed. However, Penelope doesn’t just live in a world with Marionettes – she is one.

Penelope lives in an orphanage where she is unmistakably unhappy, but one day she meets Jed, who gives her an offer she just can’t resist…

I haven’t read many retellings of books, so I was curious as to what Harris could do with her retelling of Pinocchio. At times I found it difficult to see the resemblance to the classic tale, however there were some aspects which did have a distinct connection.

One thing I didn’t like, however, was the romance in the book. I feel as if it was just thrown in there for the sake of it as it did not seem to enhance the plot (or characters) at all. I personally couldn’t find much of a connection to the characters, and at times, this made the book much harder to read.

However, Puppet does have an exciting and fast moving plot, it’s not too predictable and it keeps you on your toes!

I am so, so sorry for the lack of updates to this blog recently, I have just started University and everything is a bit hectic at the moment! I’m trying my best to catch up with everything on the blog as quickly as possible. – Laura x 

Leave a Reply

