Review: Handpicked – Dani Oden

HandpickedHandpicked by Dani Oden

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Thanks to Netgalley for this free Ebook.

Meet Jill, she’s just started college and has ended up as a part of the Greek System, in a sorority called Iota Beta. It all seems to good to be true until she realises that the other girls in Iota Beta are a little too perfect…. Not only that, but things take a turn for the worse when Jill and her two friends Hannah and Lindy discover a secret passageway in the sorority house.

First thing I want you to know is that I am not American. Before reading this book I knew very little about sororities and fraternities. If you mentioned the “Greek System” to me I would have not of had a clue what you meant. Post 18 education in the US is a lot different to post 18 education where I live in the UK. Maybe that’s why I found this book so hard to get into at first, because I didn’t understand what was going on. What the on Earth is pledging? Why are all these girls dressing up so fancy just to find somewhere to live?.

Yes, the reason I had all of that confusion that was my fault, because I wasn’t well informed on the whole Greek system.

But obviously, that’s not the reason why I disliked this book. I disliked this book because of the characters. Jill completely lacked in common sense, and so did her two friends. I can’t even begin to explain some of the ridiculous things that they do – I.e. Not contacting the authorities when they find a severed hand in the sorority house because they don’t want to get on the wrong side of the other girls.

Yes, I am confused too.

Warning: this book also contains Insta-Love regarding Jill and Tad. Tad didn’t even have any seemingly attractive characteristics besides his physical appearance!

All in all, Handpicked had a lot of promise, I really wanted to enjoy this book, but sadly, it didn’t live up to what I hoped it would be.

Leave a Reply

