Review: Eleanor & Park – Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor & ParkEleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Do you ever read a book that not only leaves you feeling like an emotional wreck, but also leaves you lost for words? Well, Eleanor & Park is one of those books. In fact, I don’t even know where to begin a review.

I liked Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, in fact, I would have loved it if it wasn’t for certain things that bugged me (another story, another time). Yet either way I was really looking forward to reading some of her other works. So there I was, reading Eleanor & Park.

But let me tell you one thing: nothing bugged me about this book. The romance wasn’t forced or rushed, there was no insta-love. Instead Eleanor and Park’s relationship was developed over a period of time in a realistic and beautiful manner. I thought this was so significant especially as Eleanor & Park is a tale of first love – the most delicate and fragile love.

Eleanor and Park themselves were such great characters- they were both so….human. They were real – meaning that they did have their flaws and vulnerabilities. But this does not hinder the characters, it makes them stronger.

“She looked like art, and art wasn’t supposed to look nice; it was supposed to make you feel something”

I know this is a book that I am not going to stop thinking about.

6 thoughts on “Review: Eleanor & Park – Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

