Review: Teardrop – Lauren Kate

Teardrop: (Teardrop Trilogy Book 1)Teardrop: by Lauren Kate
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Thanks to Netgalley for this free Ebook!

Yawwwwwwn.

Teardrop looked fantastic. Looking at it’s beautiful cover and reading the description this book gave me the impression that it would be an exciting read.

You couldn’t be more wrong

This book was so, so slow. I couldn’t wait for it to be over.

Ander had a choice: whether to save Eureka, or her mother, Diana. He chooses to save Eureka because he loves her – he has watched over her for years and witnessed all the milestones in her life. A year or so after her mother’s death, Ander bumps into Eureka’s car (ridiculous, as he saved her life but then crashes into her car -surely there are other ways to get someone’s attention???). After feeling “so right” after kissing her best friend Brooks and then getting all confused over her feelings regarding the oh-so-beautiful Ander (insta-love alert) Eureka also receives her inheritance from her mother, which add another level to Eureka’s confusion…..

Lauren Kate’s Teardrop has been a huge disappointment… Whilst it is somewhat refreshing (themes of Atlantis), it was so repetitive of other books, in a girl-falls-in-love-with-mysterious-boy-with-hidden-secrets sort of way. If all those other books never existed then maybe this book could be brilliant. Who knows? I just wanted this book to surprise me. I wanted a twist.

Overall, I wouldn’t recommend this book to anyone, besides fans of Lauren Kate’s other works (which I have not read myself but I realise are fairly popular). I wanted this book to be great, sadly I was disappointed.

Leave a Reply

